123 North College Avenue, Suite 160, Fort Collins, CO 80524
3 Convenient Locations:Ft.Collins | Greeley | Longmont
Hoggatt Law Office, P.C.

Request a Free Consultation | No Upfront FeesSe Habla Español

970-225-2190 | 
1-800-664-3151

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Fort Collins car accident lawyer

Larimer County distracted driving car accident lawyer

It may feel like there is not enough time in the day to focus on one task at a time, but operating a motor vehicle should be the only thing on a driver’s mind when he or she is behind the wheel. In Colorado, 43 accidents each day are caused by distracted driving. Although it only accounts for 13 percent of all accidents, distracted driving often causes serious injury or wrongful death. If a distracted driver causes a car accident, other parties involved may be eligible for compensation if they suffer injuries, property damage, or pain or suffering. 

Proving Negligence for Distracted Driving

A personal injury case is reliant on being able to prove that negligence was involved in an accident. Under Colorado law, contributory negligence plays a role in determining compensation. A defendant is only obligated to compensate the plaintiff for his or her proportion of fault. If the court determines the plaintiff's negligence is greater than the defendant’s, the plaintiff may not recover any damages at all. 

...

Larimer County car accident lawyer teenage driver

By this time of year, most schools are out of session for summer vacation. For a teenager with a brand-new driver’s license, this newfound freedom is exciting. Operating a car is a privilege and a responsibility that may be overlooked with the long summer nights and lack of supervision. In fact, according to the Centers for Disease Control, car accidents are the leading cause of the deaths of teenagers in the United States.

Colorado Driving Laws for Teenagers

In Colorado, the minimum age for a teenager to have an initial driver’s license is 16 years old. This is only after taking a drivers' education course, having a permit for at least 12 months, and completing a minimum number of hours on the road driving with an adult over the age of 21 who has a valid driver's license. During this time, there are restrictions for new drivers under the age of 18, but a teenager may choose to ignore these rules.

...
Martindale Hubbell Elite Lawyer best car accident attorneys in fort collins expertise Martindale Hubbell Colorado Bar Association American Association of Justice Colorado Trial Lawyers Association Larimer County Bar Association
Hoggatt Law Office, P.C.

970-225-2190 | 1-800-664-3151

123 North College Avenue, Suite 160,
Fort Collins, CO 80524

Greeley
3835 W. 10th Street
Greeley, Colorado 80634 |
970-460-2220
Longmont
353 Main Street, Suite A
Longmont, Colorado 80501 |
720-575-0509
Download Our App
Apple Store Google Play Store
Back to Top