123 North College Avenue, Suite 160, Fort Collins, CO 80524
3 Convenient Locations:Ft.Collins | Greeley | Longmont
Hoggatt Law Office, P.C.

Request a Free Consultation | No Upfront FeesSe Habla Español

970-225-2190 | 
1-800-664-3151

What if I Am Injured in a Crash With an Uninsured Driver in Colorado?

Posted on in Car Accident

Larimer County personal injury attorney car accident

Everyone hopes to avoid being injured in a car accident, but in the unfortunate event that it does happen, one would hope that the other driver’s insurance would at least cover medical bills for any injuries he or she causes. However, recent statistics show that 13 percent of Colorado drivers are uninsured, and many more have policies with the state’s minimum required bodily injury coverage of $25,000 per person injured and $50,000 total, which may be insufficient in cases of severe injuries that result in long-lasting consequences. That is why it is important to seek professional legal advice after being involved in any type of vehicle collision. 

Steps to Take After a Crash

If you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you may feel stress, fear, and uncertainty as to how to proceed, but fortunately, there are a few things that you can do to protect yourself even in this difficult situation. Follow these four tips for ensuring that you receive adequate compensation:

  1. Collect information from the scene of the accident. Any time you are injured in a car accident, you should try to gather as much information and evidence as you can. Try to speak with the other driver to find out whether he or she has insurance, as well as what type or level of coverage. You can start by filing a claim with his or her insurance company. You should also take pictures of the accident and your injuries and try to identify witnesses who can help you prove the other driver’s negligence.

  2. Find out if you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If the other driver does not have insurance, or if his or her policy is insufficient to cover your expenses, you should check to make sure your own car insurance policy includes uninsured /underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. Colorado auto insurance companies are required to offer this coverage, but you have the option to accept or refuse. Proactively ensuring that you have UM/UIM coverage before an accident happens can protect you in the event one does occur.

  3. File a claim with your insurance company. If you do have UM/UIM coverage, you should file a claim with your insurance company to receive compensation for your medical expenses. Although you might think your insurance company would put your interests first, they often try to minimize payments, so hiring a personal injury attorney is a good idea to increase your negotiating power.

  4. File a lawsuit against the other driver. If you do not have UM/UIM coverage, you can also attempt to file a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver to seek compensation from him or her directly. However, most uninsured and underinsured drivers do not have the financial assets to cover large medical expenses, so any relief you obtain through this option may be minimal.

Contact a Fort Collins Personal Injury Attorney

An automobile collision can result in significant damages to everyone involved. Regardless of the other driver’s insurance coverage, an experienced Larimer County car accident lawyer can be a significant asset in helping you obtain the compensation you need while coping with your injuries. Call Hoggatt Injury Law today at 970-225-2190 to request a free consultation and learn how we can assist you.

 

Sources:

https://www.iii.org/fact-statistic/facts-statistics-uninsured-motorists

https://leg.colorado.gov/content/mandatory-automobile-insurance-colorado

https://leg.colorado.gov/content/optional-automobile-insurance-coverage

 

Martindale Hubbell Elite Lawyer best car accident attorneys in fort collins expertise Martindale Hubbell Colorado Bar Association American Association of Justice Colorado Trial Lawyers Association Larimer County Bar Association
Hoggatt Law Office, P.C.

970-225-2190 | 1-800-664-3151

123 North College Avenue, Suite 160,
Fort Collins, CO 80524

Greeley
3835 W. 10th Street
Greeley, Colorado 80634 |
970-460-2220
Longmont
353 Main Street, Suite A
Longmont, Colorado 80501 |
720-575-0509
Download Our App
Apple Store Google Play Store
Back to Top